Thursday, December 03, 2009

Coping with Loss

Naik, Anita. Coping with Loss. Crabtree: 2009. ISBN: 9780778743910.

Coping with Loss is about helping you with many different kinds of problems. Some of the problems range from coping with change to the five stages of grief. This would be a great reference to someone that needs some help, but does not want to talk about the problems they are having. The photos really help you understand what some problems can be. My favorite one was emotional changes and loss because I went through that before. I enjoyed reading this book. I liked this book because it is interesting to read some things that happened to others. I liked the emotional changes and loss and losing a friend because I went through both of those situations before. I would recommend this book to people that either need help with their problems. I recommend this book the people ages ten to fourteen because this age you go through some similar problems.
L.V. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.


Noblemen, Marc Tyler. Sharks. Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761429883.

This book is about sharks. It is all about shark predators and preys. It also tells about life as a shark.The book is about shark babies and how they live. The story tells how the sharks die and why . It also tells how to save the sharks. I liked the book a lot. I liked it because it was all true. I like true stories more than made-up stories. I liked how the author went into detail to tell about the sharks bodies. I really liked the pictures because they have a ton of detail to them. I recommend this book to ten to fourteen year old kids. People who like to hear the truth and also for people who are visual.

N.S. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.


St.George, Judith. Zarafa. Illustrated by Britt Spencer. Philomel Books: 2009. ISBN: 9780399250491.

This book has pictures that were painted. This book is about a giraffe who is a gift to someone in Paris. This giraffe was from Africa. Her name was Zarafa and she was courageous to every one. Zarafa was too little to travel when she was little, but when she was bigger she started her trip to France. She started on a sail boat down the Nile River and then the Mediterranean Sea to get to France. She also walked 500 miles by herself to get to Paris. I liked this book because it had a lot of details because it had how she started and how many times she went on water and how she got there. The book also made you kind of tired because the book was kind of dull in ways you didn't want to read it. I would recommend this book to little kids about four to six because it has babyish pictures. Little kids can think what they want to happen to the characters.
T.B. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.


Bradley, Michael. T-Bird. Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761429838.

I like this book because I like cars.

B.F. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Mysteries of UFOs

Walter, Kathryn. Mysteries of UFOs. Crabtree: 2009. ISBN: 9780778741459.

My book is about UFOs that people started to see flying saucers in the 1940's. The Fosters Ranch was in New Mexico. Mac Brazel lived there. On June 13, 1941 he heard an explosion. The next morning there was strange wreckage on his ranch. On July 8, 1947 there was another strange incident in the desert of New Mexico. In 1995 a film examining a dead alien from Roswell. I recommend this book to people who like to learn about UFOs or the Air Force. I like this book because it is about UFOs.

A.G. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.


Bradley, Michael. Hummer. Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761429814.

This book has really cool pictures of Hummers in it. It also shows how the Hummers got started in the business. It tells facts about how much horse power they have, what engine, and how much they cost when they were first built. The Hummer has more space in the cab then a semi truck. The army would prefer these vehicles because they could drop them in the muck and the Hummer would start up and drive out. My opinion of this book is that it is really cool, because I like to lean about trucks and cars. I recommend this to any person that likes Hummers or trucks. I think that people who enjoy working on cars or reading about them would enjoy this book. People who aren't interested in cars shouldn't read this book.

A.D. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Dinosaurs in Your Backyard

Brewster, Hugh. Dinosaurs in Your Backyard. Illustrated by Alan Barnard. Abram Books: 2009. ISBN: 9780810970991.

My book is about all the different kinds of dinosaurs and all different facts about them. Like what they are, what year they were alive, how tall and long they were. Some facts are that T-Rexs ate meat and were around forty feet tall and 15-30 feet long. I would recommend this book for readers who like dinosaurs. This book would be awesome for them. I think this book is great and is very fascinating. This would be a great resource for teachers who are teaching dinosaurs because it shows so many facts.

J.G. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.

Thursday, November 12, 2009

Adventure Annie Goes to Work

Buzzeo, Toni. Adventure Annie Goes to Work. Illustrated by Amy Wummer. Dial Books: 2009. ISBN: 9780803732339.

This book is about a little girl who uses her imagination to be an adventurer named Annie. When it is time for her to go on an adventure her mom has to go to her work to find her essay. In this book there is a colorful little girl that likes to use her imagination. Her mom is like any other parents and tries to keep up with Annie's imagination. With this book there were parts I liked and parts I didn't, because there are a lot of books about little kids dressing up and being imaginary adventurers. This book didn't really stand out from other books. I liked this book because I like to hear about little kids and their imaginations. I think I would have liked it better if it was funny. I liked how the drawing looked like they were taken from real offices and rooms. I would recommend this book to preschoolers through first grade for story time, because it is easy and in a little kid's mind it would be exciting.

R.P. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.

Thursday, November 05, 2009

Read the Signals

Sayer, Dr. Melissa. Read the Signals. Crabtree Publishing: 2009. ISBN: 9780778743880.

This is a nonfiction book about body language and being confident about yourself. It tells you how to recognize different types of body language and how to use it correctly while being confident about it. It also gives you tips like flirting and giving presentations. I did not like this book one bit because I found myself embarrassed because of some of the words the author used. Popular people would benefit from the tips the author gives in this book.

M.W., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Teedie: The Story of Young Teddy Roosevelt

Brown, Don, Teedie: The Story of Young Teddy Roosevelt. Houghton Mifflin: 2009. ISBN: 9780618179992.

Teedie: The Story of Young Teddy Roosevelt by Don Brown is about Teddy Roosevelt's life. In the book you learn things you may not have know before. The artwork is made from watercolors on paper and also pen and ink. The pictures are very detailed and they go along with the story page by page. I liked the book because I learned things I didn't know before. I learned that Teddy Roosevelt had become a cowboy. I also learned that he had asthma. The other reason I liked the book was that the illustrator made the pictures very detailed and also made a picture for every page. I would recommend the book to boys and girls from grades second through fourth.
M.K. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.

Words to My Life's Song

Bryan, Ashley. Words to My Life's Song. Illustrated by Ashley Bryan and Bill McGuinness. Antheneum Books for Young Readers: 2009. ISBN: 9781416905417.

Words to My Life's Song is a book about the life of a marvelous artist named Ashley Bryan. He tells the story from his very first home to his present life, painting on the Cranberry Islands. It also explains his Cranberry Island home on every other page. The descriptive photographs show the island and his home. The other illustrations are Ashley's fantastic paintings. His paintings are extremely colorful and full of beauty. This book is packed with details of Ashley Bryan's wonderful life. I personally wasn't a huge fan of this book. I felt that it was confusing and not always in chronological order. It had beautiful artwork, though. It made the book a lot more exciting and fun. I don't really like nonfiction books, but others would love this book. Students looking for a nonfiction book for a report should look at this book. I would recommend this book to kids 8 and older.

J.S., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Math Alive: Nature Math

Dowdy, Penny. Math Alive: Nature Math. Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761432142.

This nonfiction book was all about math. The author used animals and plants from nature to help explain mathematical terms. The author also used photographs, diagrams, picture captions, and clipart. This book was very informational. It explained what Fibonacci's sequence is and showed pictures and diagrams to help people understand it. It also explains tessellations and uses a beehive to help explain what it is. Then, it tells the reader about weather and how to make predictions. I would recommend this book to elementary school children who enjoy learning about math.

S.D., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Hoaxed! Fakes and Mistakes in the World of Science

Editors of YES Magazine. Hoaxed! Fakes and Mistakes in the World of Science. Illustrated by Howie Woo. Kids Can Press: 2009. ISBN: 9781554532063.

This nonfiction book is about scientists trying to pull 'fast ones' on the public and the media. This immensily interesting book goes from the world of Big Foot to the world of Alien crop circles, and the Loch Ness Monster. The artwork in this book is cartoons, but it also shows several actual photographs. All different types of science come together in Hoaxed! I personally did not enjoy this book. The facts themselves intrigued me, but science just isn't my cup of tea. Some topics, for instance, Big Foot, kept me on the edge of my seat, while other topics, like Piltdown Man, I did not take a particular liking to. I would recommend this book for people who enjoy reading about science. It is a book all about facts, so I would recommend it for children above the age of 10, just for the type of content in it.

K.J., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Using Energy

Hewitt, Sally. Using Energy. Crabtree Publishing: 2009. ISBN: 9780778740694.

Using Energy is a nonfiction book that teaches the reader about different types of energy, how it is used, and why it should be conserved. It gives suggestions on how kids can save energy and take care of the planet. The illustrations in this book are mostly photographs that help readeres to better understand the text. For example, an energy efficient school is mentioned with a picture of the school. In the back of the book, there is a glossary, list of websites that help the reader learn more about topics in the book, and an index. This was a very interesting book. It taught me a lot about energy. I found pages 16 and 17 particularly intriguing. I didn't know that phone chargers used energy when they were plugged in and not charging. The "Action!" and "Challenge!" sections on almost every page had good ideas on what kids can do.

J.C., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

The Nine Lives of Rotten Ralph

Gantos, Jack. The Nine Lives of Rotten Ralph. Illustrated by Nicole Rubel. Houghton Mifflin: 2009. ISBN: 9780618800469.

Rotten Ralph was quite the humorous book. It starts on a morning like any other when Ralph, Sarah's pet cat, wakes up and feels very tired and sick! He yells to Sarah, who comes running to his bedside. She decides to take him to the vet. The vet explains that Ralph has only ONE of his nine LIVES LEFT! Will Ralph be responsible and stay in bed? Or will he be as rotten as ever and sneak out to have fun? This book was very good because the pictures and words worked really well together describing what happens. I would recommend it to children from kindergarten to 2nd grade. I felt that the artwork was quite humorous and I enjoyed it the most.

H.F., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School


Hall, Randal C. Lamborghini/Lamborghini. Capstone Press: 2009. ISBN: 9781429623810.

This is a very short, nonfiction picture book. It is mostly about Ferruccio Lamborghini. It explains how and why Lamborghini switched from tractors to cars. It also introduces new cars that Lamborghini is introducing and the old ones that they already have. I found this book very interesting because I had no clue Lamborghini started as a tractor company. I also found it a little bland. Though the pictures were stunning, it seemed like they had nothing to do with the rest of the book. I would recommed this to any car lover under 12 because it is simply too easy for older readers.

D.H., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

How are they Made? T-shirts

Blaxland, Wendy. How are they Made? T-Shirts. Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761438120.

This is an incredibly informational book that describes the entire process of making a t-shirt. It tells other materials that t-shirts can be made from. This book has pictures on every page to furthur the expression of the text. It tells how t-shirts are packaged and distributed to help the manufacturer save money. I thought this book was kind of boring because it was just firing fact after fact after fact at you. A book like this is not the type of book that I enjoy reading.
I would recommend this book to an older audience that wants to know where and how t-shirts are made.

D.K., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Boy Dumplings

Compestine, Ying Chang. Boy Dumplings. Illustrated by James Yamaski. Holiday House: 2009. ISBN: 9780823419555.

Boy Dumplings by Ying Chang Compestine is a very weird and interesting book. The artwork is amazing, There is so much detail in the pictures. Water colors must have been very hard for these pictures with so many details. The ghost was a very scary character. When he almost chopped up the boy after he was soaked in vegetables he took a nap. There were many exciting and scary parts in this book. I didn't like this book at all. There was a lot of detail, but I thought it wasn't very fun or funny. There was one page that jumped out to me, which was the last page. I would recommend this book to children in grades first through third, because it was an easy read for me.

L.R. 7th Grade.Eastwood Middle School.

The Salem Witch Trials

Fradin, Judith Bloom and Dennis Brindell. The Salem Witch Trials. Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761430131.

The images in this nonfiction book did not follow the reading, although, they made me understand more what the reading was about. I found this book very interesting and now want to read more about the Salem Witch Trials. It was informational and followed chronological order. The glossary and timeline helped me understand more about the book. It includes 6 chapters and I found them all to be very intriguing. I would recommend this book to the ages 10 and up; especially around 12 and 13 when they are interested in these scary experiences with board games and TV shows.

J.J., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School


Otfinoski, Steven. Alligators. Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761429302.

Alligators is a very interesting book. Every page is packed full of information for almost anything you might want to know about alligators. The pictures in this book are simply wonderful; they made me want to keep reading the book even more. The pictures were very well selected and they go perfectly with the text. I really enjoyed this book mainly because of the pictures. Otfinoski did a wonderful job taking information that people may not find interesting and making it fun with great pictures. I recommend this book to anyone that needs to find information on alligators. Otfinoski leaves out the bias, too. I definitely think that anyone who needs, or wants to know anything about alligators should read this book.

K.M., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Crocodile Safari

Arnosky, Jim. Crocodile Safari. Scholoastic Press: 2009. ISBN: 9780439903561.

This nonfiction book is about the author and his wife going to Southern Florida to count crocodiles. He describes many different scenes and things that he saw on his safari. Some of the spottings the author describes are very odd, or even famous. The pictures are realistic and they make you feel like it is all actually happening. I thought the book was very intriguing because every page had something different and bizarre on it. I also thought the pictures were great because they always told what was happening on that page. I do not think the book was targeted to a particular age group. I do think that anyone who wants to learn about alligators or who likes a fun, realistic adventure would like this book.

E.W., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School


Mara, Wil. Deer. Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761429265.

This phenomonal, nonficiton book, Deer, is all about deer! It is an informational book that explains the types, heights and weights, species of different deer. It even talks about endangered species of deer, and much, much more fun filled and intriguing facts about deer. The photographs of all of the deer are colorful. I liked this book very much because I did not know how many different species of deer there are, but now I do. I also learned that deer could over populate people, so it helped me understand why hunters may be needed. I would recommend this amazing book to anyone who loves nature and it's beauty. Mostly, I think this would be helpful for hunters. This is one of my most favorite books because it helped me learn more about how deer live and why we need them.

7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

The Man Who Lived in a Hollow Tree

Shelby, Anne. The Man Who Lived in a Hollow Tree. Illustrated by Cor Hazelaar. Simon and Schuster: 2009. ISBN: 9780689861697.

The title of this book is The Man Who Lived in a Hollow Tree. The man's name was Harlan Burch. He lived in this tree until he was very old. Burch was a carpenter. One day he became young again. I liked this book because I think it would be cool to live in a tree. I also like the book because he gets old and then becomes young again and that was very suprising. I would recommend this book for children between four and ten years-old. I would also recommend this for children who want to become carpenters.
T.E. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.

How Do Spiders Make Webs?

Stewart, Melissa. How Do Spiders Make Webs? Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761429203.

How Do Spiders Make Webs is very interesting because it gives a lot of information about spiders. This book has many topics about spiders, like what a spider is, why spiders make webs, how they make webs, and the different kinds of spiderwebs. This book has a lot of pictures with captions that correspond with what was written. This book has a table of contents, an activity, a glossary, a find out more section, and an index; it will help you understand some of the words that you might not know. I think the activity in the back of the book is a great idea because it will get people involved in nature and spiders and their webs

I would recommend this book to the people who are interested in spiders.

R.L., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Acids and Bases

Brent, Lynnette. Acids and Bases. Crabtree: 2009. ISBN: 9780778742395.

Acids and Bases by Lynnette Brent is a non-fiction book. The fabulous features in this book include the table of contents, informational text, pictures that go with every page, captions that tell what is happening in them, tables/charts, a glossary, index, and different websites that interact with the reading. This book is very informational and has a wide range of good vocabulary. It also has some acid and base experiments that you can do at home. It has great pictures that go with the text and they help you understand what the author is trying to teach you. It tells how different acids and bases react with each other and what is the safest way to perform experiments. It has safety hazards and tell you what to do if a strong acid or base gets on your skin. I liked the book very much, although it did get a bit boring on some pages that talked about things I already knew. For instance on pages 22 and 23 they talked about the environment and acids and what they can do to affect the environment. I learned a lot of new definitions and what acids and bases are. I learned about how different acids and bases are used. I like the pictures because they helped me understand the informational text better. Also the pictures have explanations to them that I liked. I would recommend this book to children ages ten to thirteen. I think children who like to learn about science would like it and who would want more information on acids and bases.

K.L. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.

A Curious Collection of Cats

Franco, Betsy. A Curious Collection of Cats. Illustrated by Michael Wertz. Tricycle Press: 2009. ISBN: 9781582462486.

This is a wonderful collection of fictional poems that I just had to read again and again! The illustrations are very intriguing and the bright colors certainly capture how fun and playful the poems are! This book perfectly describes the adorable (and not so adorable) habits of cats. It is just the cutest book. Both the words and the illustrations were intriguing, and the cats are so adorable. My two favorite poems were "Veronica Goes Wide" and "Princess" because they remind me of my fat, prissy cat.
I recommend this book for young readers, ages 6 to 12 but this book is also good for cat lovers of all ages!

K.H., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Butterflies and Moths

Bishop, Nic. Butterflies and Moths. Scholastic: 2009. ISBN: 9780439877572.

Butterflies and Moths is a fascinating book! It gives great detail about how butterflies are born, how they eat, and about caterpillars' lives as well. The book is intriguing as it pulls you into the everyday lives of caterpillars, butterflies and moths. The photos in this book are magnified so that you can see exactly what a caterpillar and butterfly look like when they are doing something. Page 18 captivated me because it gave so much detail on what happens to different caterpillars when they are attacked. Another reason I liked this book was because on every page there is bold-faced words that give very interesting facts.
A child between the ages of 7 and 9 would most enjoy this book. I think that children who like science would like to be very informed about butterflies and moths.

E.K., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Too Fat? Too Thin? Do You Have a Choice?

Arnold, Caroline. Too Fat? Too Thin? Do You Have a Choice?. 2009. Morrow. ISBN: 0688027806.

Too Fat? Too Thin? Do You Have a Choice? is about people being miserable about their weight. The book mentions ways to lose weight. It gives examples about people who wasted thousands of dollars on surgeries and things that aren't needed for losing weight. The photographs show people who are fat and skinny. I think this book is not for kids, but for older people. It is not for kids who are going to spend their lives worrying about their weight. I recommend this book to older people who need help losing weight.

M.M., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Extreme Scientists

Jackson, Donna. Extreme Scientists. Houghton Mifflin: 2009. ISBN: 9780618777068.

Extreme Scientists is humorous and educational at the same time. The picture are very detailed with captions that go with the readings. The book is informational, because is has questions for the reader at the end that ask what the person does for work.

T. M. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.

Ellis Island

Mortensen, Lori. Ellis Island. Illustrated by Matthew Skeens. Picture Window Books: 2009. ISBN: 9781404847057.

Ellis Island, by Lori Mortensen, is about a family that moves to Ellis Island, New York. A woman named Sophie is telling about how her grandparents got to Ellis Island and why they went there. Sophie's grandparents came from Europe so they could be free from wars and hunger. They, as well as many other immigrants, traveled to Ellis Island on boats. After they got there they started to build houses and buildings. Then a fire broke out and burned Ellis Island to the ground. After they rebuilt everything Ellis Island shut its doors. Later it reopened to immigrants without diseases. I think this would be a good book for seven to eleven year-olds.
J.Z. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.

New Year at the Pier

Wayland, April Halprin. New Year at the Pier. Dial Books for Young Readers: 2009. ISBN: 9780803732797.

New Year at the Pier is about a boy named Izzy and his family. They are celebrating Rosh Hashanah, so they list all of the wrongs they have committed in the past year. After apologizing for these wrongs, they go to the Pier to "cleanse their hearts" in a ceremony called Tashlich. The artwork in the book was very amazing. There were bright colors, and the details were very well done. The illustrator used water colors to create the characters. I loved that because it makes the scene and characters look very unique.
I thought this story was a very cute way of telling what people do for Rosh Hashanah. I wish the author could have made the story more exciting, because the story didn't really catch my attention.

E.S., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

The California Gold Rush

Fradin, Dennis Brindell. The California Gold Rush. Marshall Cavendish Benchmark: 2009. ISBN: 9780761430124.

The California Gold Rush is about gold. It gives some background information, including about King Tutankamen's tomb, a thumbnail of a Greek tale about using gold as currency. Then, the book goes in detail about the California gold rush. It includes some photographs, reproductions, and a few maps. This book also has a bibliography, an index, a timeline, a glossary, a further information section. I found this book fascinating. I thought it was interesting to learn about gold and the different uses of gold in the past. I enjoyed the first few pages because the information about King Tut's tomb was wonderful.
I would recommend this book to anyone ages 10 and up. Anyone who enjoys history would like this book.

E.H., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

One Fine Trade

Miller, Bobbi. One Fine Trade. illustrated by Will Hillenbrand. 2009. Holiday House. ISBN: 9780823418367.

This book was very odd but I liked it. The girl made her dad trade the horse for many other things such as a cow and a dog just to get the silver dollar. The illustrations in One Fine Trade were done with ink and pencil on vellum. I would recommend this book to first through sixth graders. Plus, I liked the way they put the pictures.

M.L., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Monday, October 26, 2009

Japan: The People

Kalman, Bobbie. Japan: The People. 2009. Crabtree Publishing. ISBN: 9780778792970.

In Japan: The People, it tells about how the Japanese people live and what the marriage ceremony would be like, about school sports, and about living there. It also tells what they eat. The book also tells what they do after a family member has died. My opinion is the book is outstanding because it is outstanding how they live and what they do everyday. I would recommend the book to kids ages 9-12 because it has a lot of reading and some big words, but the pictures are very nice and clear. I did like the book and so would someone who likes culture and learning about cultures.

M.K., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

How Do Chameleons Change Color?

Stewart, Melissa. How Do Chameleons Change Color?. 2009. Marshall Cavendish. ISBN: 9780761429227.

I don't like this book because there is too much blah. It tells you about a lot but not too many details about chameleons changing color. This book is for kids to look up chameleons. Ages 6-10 would enjoy.

D.J., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Mysteries of Alien Visitors and Abductions

Walker, Kathryn. Mysteries of Alien Visitors and Abductions. Crabtree Publishing: 2009. ISBN: 9780778741411.

I found this nonfiction book fascinating. It includes stories about real people's strange meetings. Most of these stories were told while under hypnosis. The glossary has clear definitions and the pictures were a great visual aide. I found this book fascinating because it has interesting facts and stories told by real people. The paintings and computer generated photos were a helpful visual on every page. People who enjoy science fiction or nonfiction would most likely like this book. I recommend this book to children in grades 3,4,5, and 6, because the concept might be harder to grasp for anyone younger.

L.W., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Martial Arts Legends

Gifford, Clive. Martial Arts Legends. Crabtree Publishing: 2009. ISBN: 9780778737766.

This book was fascinating! I enjoyed this nonfiction book because it gave many surprising facts. A large portion of these facts were about famous movie stars and Olympic fighters. It also gave a great timeline of the history of martial arts and pictures and examples of styles. I liked when this book talked about the masters of martial arts styles, still alive today. I recommend this book for ages 7-13 or for anyone who wants to find interesting facts about martial arts.

C.T., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

How Weird Is It?

Hillman, Ben. How Big Is It?. 2009. Scholastic. ISBN: 9780439918688.

How Weird Is It? was a book about several different things like how Egyptians lived with their cats and how comets fell from the sky. There was a lot more weird stuff, but the rest I will let you discover. The kids that read this book would probably be 12-15 years old. I do not like the book, but that is my opinion. I do think that a lot of kids would like it around Halloween time because it's creepy.

A.G., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

That's Papa's Way

Banks, Kate. That's Papa's Way. Farrar, Straus & Giroux: 2009. ISBN: 9780374374457.

That's Papa's Way is an enticing fiction book. It is about a father and his daughter going on a fishing trip together. They both have different things that they like to do their own way. The painted pictures are full of detail and are very creative. This book shows the relationship between a young girl and her father; therefore I recommend this book to girls 4 to 8 years of age. This book was geared toward a younger audience, so it wasn't as appealing to me as it would be to a six year old girl. The only thing I would change is how much brown the pictures used.

V.S., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Dinothesaurus: Prehistoric Poems and Paintings

Florian, Douglas. Dinothesaurus: Prehistoric Poems and Paintings. 2009. Atheneum Books for Young Readers. ISBN: 9781416979784.

Dinothesaurus has poems about different dinos. My favorite is about the triceratops. It talks about how mean they are. My opinion is that I like this book so I think other people should read it. I recommend this book for ages 4 and up.

B.R., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Tony and the Pizza Champions

Gemignani, Tony. Tony and the Pizza Champions. illustrated by Matthew Trueman. 2009. Chronicle Books. ISBN: 9780811861625.

Tony and the Pizza Champions was about pizza champions and a bunch of teams to compete against. Every team was amazing in the championships. The medal was in the shape of a pizza but it was golden. This book was awesome to me mostly because I love pizza. It would be for anyone who loves pizza.

K.O., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Red Sings From Treetops: A Year in Colors

Sidman, Joyce. Red Sings From Treetops: A Year in Colors. illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski. 2009. Houghton Mifflin. ISBN: 9780547014944.

I liked the book because it was poetry about the colors of the different seasons. It showed pictures of nature outside. People who like poetry would like this book. Best for ages 6 and up.

S.G., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Unite or Die: How 13 States Became a Nation

Jules, Jacqueline. Unite or Die: How 13 States Became a Nation. illustrated by Jef Czekaj. 2009. Charlesbridge. ISBN: 978158089189.

Unite or Die is about how the 13 states became a nation. There were a lot of cartoons and it was not funny to me. I did not like the book because I don't like history. People who like history would like this book because it has a lot of history.

J.L., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Hamlet and the Tales of Sniggery Woods

Kneen, Maggie. Hamlet and the Tales of Sniggery Woods. 2009. Henry Holt and Co. ISBN: 9780805077018.

Hamlet and the Tales of Sniggery Woods is about a little pig that likes to cook. He wanted to be in cooking school. Hamlet's Uncle Alf left him a note. He said he's getting old and he can't run the cafe anymore.

R.G., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Amiri & Odette: A Love Story

Myers, Walter Dean. Amiri & Odette: A Love Story. illustrated by Javaka Steptoe. 2009. Scholastic Press. ISBN: 9780590680417.

Amiri likes to play basketball. He plays on an outdoor basketball court. The art is paintings. The paintings are sweet. The colors are mixed and they are good paintings. My opinion is that it is a good book because it shows how this family gets back together. They love each other. Kids ages 12-13 would like this book.

A.R., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Insect Eaters

Kalman, Bobbie. Insect Eaters. 2009. Crabtree Publishing. ISBN: 9780778732785.

Insect Eaters is a very informative book that tells you what type of animals eat insects. This book also tells more about the animal and their methods of obtaining their food. My favorite part was the echidnas page because I love echidnas. If I were doing a report on animals or plants that eat insects, this would be the first book I would go to. This book is great because I am an animal person and I enjoy learning more about them. I learned that echidnas are hatched from eggs. A strength of this book is that it's so informative. A weakness is that it's serious and hardly funny. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy animals, mostly between the ages of 9-13.

A.S., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Big George : How A Shy Boy Became President Washington

Rockwell, Anne. Big George : how a shy boy became President Washington. Illustrated by Matt Phelan. Harcourt: 2009. ISBN: 9780152165833.

Big George by Anne Rockwell was a very descriptive and interesting book. The artwork was very interesting and it went well with the text. The only problem I saw with the pictures was the eyes were to small for the faces. What I thought was interesting was how it described how he was never wounded in battle, and how well the pictures related to the text. I thought this book was very good for its reading level, because it gave lots of information about our first president. I thought one of the many strengths in this book was the "A note from the author" section. I got to learn even more from that section. I though one of its weaknesses was how it was about his childhood, because I thought his childhood was a little boring. I think kids that want to learn about George Washington, read a challenging book, or look at pictures would like this book. I would recommend this book to first and second graders.

B.T. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.

Hansel and Gretel

Isadora, Rachel. Hansel and Gretel. G.P. Putnam's Sons: 2009. ISBN:9780399250286.

Hansel and Gretel by Rachel Isadora is a fiction book. The book is a great book, because it has good pictures. The pictures were detailed because they match the words in the story. First in the story Hansel and Gretel's stepmother hated them and their father and stepmother were fighting. When their parents went to sleep Hansel went outside to get pebbles, and then Hansel got yelled at by the stepmother. I liked the book, because it had awesome picture in it. They were decorated perfectly. I would recommend this book to anyone, because anyone could enjoy it. I would love to have this book on my shelf.

D.G. 7th Grade. Eastwood Middle School.

Mysteries of the Bermuda Triangle

Walker, Kathryn. Mysteries of the Bermuda Triangle. Illustrated by Stefan Chabluk. Crabtree: 2009. ISBN: 9780778741442.

Mysteries of the Bermuda Triangle is a nonfiction book that tells stories about ships and planes going missing. One of the stories I liked is about a group of U.S. Navy Avenger bombers vanishing without a trace. The author uses a lot of photographs to show what some of the stories talk about. There are many stories that have to do with boats that went missing in the Atlantic Ocean. Three islands make up a triangle known as the Bermuda Triangle. I think this book is good because of the stories they put in them give good descriptions and photos. This is good to read if you are between the ages of eight and twelve. I think that someone might like this book because of all the stories in it.

Z.H. 7th grade. Eastwood Middle School.

There's a Babirusa in My Bathtub.

Schur, Maxine Rose. There's a Babirusa in My Bathtub. Dawn Publications: 2009. ISBN: 9781584691174.

There's a Babirusa in My Bathtub is a nonfiction book about facts about all sorts of animals. On each page there is a different animal. On the page there is a poem about the animal and then next to it there is also two paragraphs describing the animal. Also on the page there is a fabulous fact about the creature. I really enjoyed the fabulous fact because it tells you facts that you may have not known. The artwork was amazing! The pictures looked like the actual animal.I really liked this book. I learned a lot of facts from it. I also learned about animals that I didn't know existed. I enjoyed almost every page, because you can learn from it. I would recommend this to sixth to eight graders, because it is interesting and a little hard to understand some words. Also to people who want to learn about animals.

A.B. 7th grade. Eastwood Middle School.

Solving the Mysteries of the Past

Aksomitis, Gerard. Solving the Mysteries of the Past. Crabtree: 2009. ISBN: 9780778741718.

Solving the Mysteries of the Past by Gerard Aksomitis is about archaeology. In this book there are a lot of facts about mummies.

C.S. 7th grade. Eastwood Middle School.

Keep On!

Hopkinson, Debrah. Keep On!. Peachtree Publishing: 2009. ISBN: 9781561454737.

Keep On! is a nonfiction story about Matthew Henson the co-discoverer of the North Pole. The art and illustrations are very realistic with the small white paint dots as snowflakes. The story talks about Matthew Henson wanting to explore places he never has seen before. Captain Childs was Matthew's teacher for a lot of years. After Captain Child's died Matthew wanted to go to the North Pole. My opinion about this book is that it is amazing. My favorite part was when Matthew was in the icy cold water. I though he wouldn't come out with all the movies I have seen. I would recommend this book to fourth and fifth graders, because it would inform them about the co-discoverer of the North Pole.

J.H., 7th grade, Eastwood Middle School

Wombat Walkabout

Shields, Carol Diggory. Wombat Walkabout. Dutton: 2009. ISBN: 9780525478052.

Wombat Walkabout by Carol Diggory Shields is a fiction book about six little wombats who go on a walk. When they are all walking the last one will stop and a Dingo will pick the wombat up and put them in a sack. He picks up all but two. The art work has laid-back light colors. I thought the pictures were really good and went along with the story. I liked the book, because it explains why you should stay in a group or with a partner. It was overall a good book and It would be good for a child ages six to twelve. I think all kids from ages six to twelve would like this book, because it is fun to read, but is also informational.
J.C. 7th grade. Eastwood Middle School.

What's Inside?

Laroche, Giles. What's Inside?. Houghton Mifflin: 2009. ISBN:9780618862474.

What's Inside? by Giles Laroche is a nonfiction book. It tells about buildings and their contents. This book takes you around the world from King Tut's tomb to an aquarium. At the end of the book it takes you back home into your bedroom. The illustrations are really lifelike. They are made of many layers of paper and many beautiful colors. I thought this book was boring. There was nothing interesting happening. I was bored that it was just facts. The only interesting part of the book was the end when the author showed the kids back in their house. I think this book would be for someone who was doing a research project on buildings. I would recommend this for ages eight to fourteen.

L.T. 7th grade. Eastwood Middle School.

Listen to the Wind

Mortenson, Greg. Listen to the Wind. illustrated by Susan Roth. 2009. Dial Books for Young Readers. ISBN: 9780803730588.

Listen to the Wind is about a man who helps build a school for poor children of the Korphe in a little village in Pakistan. They had to write and do their work.

T.M., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School


Kajikawa, Kimiko. Tsunami!. Philomel Books: 2009. ISBN:9780399250064.

Tsunami! by Kimiko Kajikawa is a fiction book about an old man named Ojiisan who is the oldest and wealthiest person in the village. As Ojiison watches the rice ceremony he feels something coming, but he cannot describe it. Then he sees it, the huge wave, Tsunami. Ojiison only has so much time to warn the villagers, and he needs to, fast. The picutres in the book were very bright, but they didn't really show what the text was about.I did like this book, because of the art. I liked this art, because the colors made me feel warm. I would recommend this to eight to thirteen year-olds. I would recommend this to that age group, because of the vibrant language.

L.F.,7th grade, Eastwood Middle School.

Thursday, October 15, 2009

What is Trade?

Andrews, Carolyn. What is Trade? Crabtree Publishing: 2009. ISBN: 9780778742586.

This nonfiction book clearly tells what trade is. It tells how trade first started up to present day. It uses photographs and computer generated maps. The book was educational and introduced new vocabulary. I liked the way the photographs went along with the text. I did not like the "fact stops" because I thought they were in the way. I liked the size of the pictures because they were big and bright. I liked the captions because they clearly stated what the photographs were. I think this book is good for anyone who wants to learn about trade, especially 9-14 year olds.

Z.R., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Bugs that Destroy

Jackson, Carl. Bugs that Destroy. Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761413886.

Bugs that Destory is a nonfiction, spectacular, and informative book meant for young scientists between the ages of 8-12. This book tells all about bugs, whether they live alone or are gregarious (a term you will learn in this story). It tells what bugs detroy, how they destroy it, and how to stop them. This book also has photographs magnified to the perfect size, and diagrams and illustrations that help the reader picture the bug while giving extra information.

A.Z., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Solving the Mysteries of Machu Picchu

Croy, Anita. Solving the Mysteries of Machu Picchu. Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761431039.

This nonfiction book was about the abandoned Incan city of Machu Picchu. The pictures in the book were amazing! The information in the book was interesting and attention grabbing! I thought it was very interesting that almost everyone had a different theory or idea that caused the Inca's to leave. I thought this book was very factual. I like action books, so this was a little different. I would recommend this book to people who are interested in Machu Picchu or history, or even someone who just wants to read a book.

N.R., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

In Pericles's Athens with Socrates

Leoni, Christina. In Pericle's Athens with Socrates. Marshall Cavendish: 2009. ISBN: 9780761443261.

This is a nonfiction book about two kids in the present day who follow an owl into ancient Greece, where they meet Socrates. Then, Socrates takes them on a tour of Athens from the Acropolis, to the countryside, and everywhere else too! With pictures on every page, it will certainly give you an idea of where they were. There is also a table of contents, a map of ancient Athens, a biography of Socrates, a chronology of important events, an overview of the age of Pericles, a glossary, and an index with exciting new words in both Greek and English. I liked the book because it was a historical book and I like history, but that isn't the only reason. Another one is the many colorful pictures on the pages and all of the Greek words and meanings. The author really spent a lot of time researching about ancient Greece. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to be a historian or wants to learn about Athens because that is what it is mostly about.

T.B., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

A Picture Book of Harry Houdini

Adler, David A. and Michael S. A Picture Book of Harry Houdini. Holiday House: 2009. ISBN: 9780823420599.

This nonfiction book is pretty much a quick glance at Harry Houdini's life. It starts right into the action; it really catches your attention. It tells when he was born, it gives some of his most famous tricks and then goes to the day he dies. The pictures really help you imagine what has happened in his life. They make you feel like you are actually in the audience watching him perform. This book was good, overall. It had fascinating things about his life, but it didn't have much text and a kid my age could have written it. It is a great read for kids in first through fourth grade who like magicians and trickery. It is a good, short biography about Harry Houdini.

G.G., 7th Grade, Eastwood Middle School

Get Cooking

Stern, Sam. Get Cooking. 2009. Candlewick Press. ISBN: 9780763639266.

Get Cooking is about a teenage boy who is tremendous! All of the recipes are very, very detailed and the pictures are life-like. All of the recipes are very good looking! My opinion on this book is I wish I was the one who could taste the food. I would recommend this book for grades 6 through high school and beyond.

J.H., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Down, Down, Down: A Journey to the Bottom of the Sea

Jenkins, Steve. Down, Down, Down: A Journey to the Bottom of the Sea. 2009. Houghton Mifflin. ISBN: 9780618966363.

Down, Down, Down was about the bottom of the sea. It tells you about fish and their diet. I thought the book's pictures were colorful and big. The book talks about almost every fish in the sea. I thought it was cool. I thought the book was cool but I didn't like reading it because it talked a lot about the sea. I like more of the action books. I recommend this book to people who like fish and water. I think kids ages 6 to 10 would like this book because it's cool and has awesome pictures. This book is educational for this age group.

D.K., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Waste and Recycling

Hewitt, Sally. Waste and Recycling. 2009. Crabtree Publishing. ISBN: 9780778740988.

Waste and Recycling is a very good book. It is very informative. The photographs were very clear and life-like. I think this book is really amazing. I think it would help people who need help with a report on recycling. I learned a lot about waste and recycling. If you read it, you may like it! I recommend this to people who like learning about recycling and for ages 9-14.

S.S., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School

Sacred Mountain: Everest

Taylor-Butler, Christine. Sacred Mountain: Everest. 2009. Lee and Low Books. ISBN: 9781600602559.

I liked Sacred Mountain: Everest because it told about how indigenous people there lived and what their religion is. It tells about when a child is born. I recommend this book for people who like to climb mountains.

M.T., 7th grader, Eastwood Middle School